5 Great Breakfast Meals

Posted by myhealthexperts on November 21, 2008

Diabetes Delight!

Diabetes Delight!


Breakfast is perhaps the most important meal of the day. It literally breaks the fasting state we experience during sleep. Usually cortisol is high in the morning (this helps us wake up) so eating can help offset this elevation of stress hormone.

Many people feel too busy to eat a good breakfast, so they opt for the quickies: coffee, orange juice and either a bagel or muffin. These are some of the worst foods one can consume, and ensure long term health risks. My goals for breakfast: Low sugar, nutrient dense foods, as raw as possible, wheat free, healthy fats and of course good taste!

Breakfast can be a great way to jump start your committment to a healthy (and Whol-E) day. So here are 5 fast but healthy breakfast meals:
1) Breakfast Smoothie: This is very fast and easy. Start with some basics and build from there. My smoothie video is worth watching. I usually add 10 oz. water, 1/4 cup blueberries, 1 apple, and then a large handful of mixed greens. Blend well, then add some fish oil, or flax seed (grind in coffee grinder first). I add 2 raw eggs, but if you are not there yet, add a scoop of protein powder. I also add stevia and cinnamon to taste. These taste great and are super-nutritious!

2) Yogurt & Granola: I prefer goat or sheep milk yogurt, its healthier than cows milk. And I use a low sugar, low fat granola – FEED is a good brand, Galaxy Granola is my fav, and Bear Naked is okay if it’s all you got. I add only a little granola, and instead fill the yogurt up with blueberries, ground flax seed, some cocoa nibs (love these!), and coconut milk. I also add stevia and cinnamon to taste.

3) Oatmeal, Berries, Flax and Almonds: I add almonds &/or flax seed to practically everything. Slow cook oatmeal is best as its a lower glycemic index. Cook the oatmeal, then add almond or coconut milk when its done, plus ground flax seed and the berries. You can also add egg whites when the oatmeal is cooking and it will increase protein content. You can even add a scoop of protein powder. I also add stevia and cinnamon to taste if needed.

4) Breakfast Burrito: I am addicted to brown rice and sprouted wheat tortilla’s. You can jam them with healthy goodies and they taste amazing. For breakfast – I will cook a few eggs over easy (soft yolks are very healthy) and then add them to the tortilla (already warmed in the oven). I also add some chopped apple, avocado, almonds, sometimes goat cheese and/or flax seed, and then a healthy salad dressing (Braggs makes great salad dressings). These are fast and super healthy!

5) Egg white omelette: Several egg whites and of course, as many greens and veggies as you feel comfortable stuffing in there. I add raw onions, spinach, and mixed greens as the eggs cook. This softens up the greens and takes the edge off the onions. A slice or 2 of brown rice or sprouted grain bread could make an acceptable addition. I use avocado as a spread, but coconut oil or butter works and even ghee (raw butter), or organic butter is acceptable.

I always cook with coconut oil or butter – these are the only stable fats that do not create toxic substances when heated. And I use only stainless steel or cast iron cookware, teflon is not safe to use. Try them and realize its easy to eat healthy!

Please feel free to share this with anyone you think can use some healthy advice.

One Response to “5 Great Breakfast Meals”

  1. […] 2008 at 6:32 pm · Filed under Eat, Recipes Healthy Granola Here!In a recent post I listed 5 healthy breakfast ideas. One of them involved granola. Truth be told I am not a big fan of commercial granola formulas. […]

Leave a Reply

 
